On Diversity in MtG

Magic: the Gathering invokes classic fantasy. My kids collect these cards. I think its imaginative illustrations motivate their interest. We share tall tales around our kitchen table. Card art provides inspiration. We build questionable decks but always good memories. Are there more lessons than game play?

Wizards of the Coast promotes a welcoming atmosphere. In fact, they went as far as to print game-store posters declaring it. Diversity means more than a swath of elves or dinosaurs. I believe we must consider persons who may look or believe differently than ourselves.

m19-12-gallant-cavalry.pngMy three impressionable daughters see art with increasingly modestly dressed women. I don’t care if those characters also carry a powerful battle-axe or wear knightly armor. A prominent (female) story character has autism; two members in our house do, too. I’d run the risk of “virtue signalling” with more non-traditional examples.

A response to change reflects deeper character than any ones printed on cardboard. To people angered by so-called identity politics in the game: I’m sad our make-believe is too real for you. If you’re gonna act childish, let it be simple kindness. Be polite. Play nicely with others like your 3rd grade self did. My advice applies to staunch social advocates, too. I feel we need to remember how respect travels a two-way street.

Push forward. We’ll miss opportunities if our only role-models stand like flimsy playing cards. I encourage your participation during upcoming elections. As I write, our hobby passes to the next generation.

Let’s not play games at the voting booth.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started